

## PEOPLE and PLACES







## **PEOPLE**

M.S. Birmingham, Jr. has joined the Chemical Group of Emery Industries, Inc., as a sales representative in the Groups' Western Division, and Bernard P. Olszowy has joined the Trylon Chemicals Group as a sales representative.... Edward A. Knaggs has been appointed Director of Commercial Development; Paul G. Bay, who is Manager of Corporate Research, will also assume the position of Technical Director; and Charles W. Given has been appointed Director of Corporate Planning, all at Stepan Chemial Co....Drew Chemical Corp. announced the following changes: Tom Farrington promoted to Research Associate; James N. Tanis appointed to Consultant, Water and Waste Treatment Division; Ronald C. Andrade appointed Production Supervisor, Fuel Treatment, Water and Waste Treatment Division; J. Francis Catton appointed Sales Director, Europe; Orazio Fusco appointed Sales Director, Mediterranean....Mark O. Flanagan elected VP-Refined Oil Products of Central Soya, Inc. . . . Donald J. Sargent elected VP and Technical Director of E/M Lubricants, Inc., Subsidiary of Great Lakes Chemical Corp....Thomas E. Carr appointed Project Engineer in Shriver Division of Envirotech Corp. . . . Richard R. Perrault has joined Dorr-Oliver as Technical Manager-Pulp and Paper....David L. Arehart appointed Manager of Para-Xylene Sales of Hercules Inc. . . . Edward Ewell named Textile Industry Manager in the Chemical Specialties Division of Pennwalt Corp.... Donald J. Shaughnessy has been named president and chief executive officer of Armour-Dial Company. Also at Armour-Dial: R. Craig Campbell named director of product marketing, soap products; John F. Dix named director of product marketing, toiletries products; Elliott L. Sharpe appointed director of product marketing, food and household products; William B. Martin assumes responsibility for household products; Robert R. Johnson appointed product manager for canned meats; George F. Fettig becomes product manager for the Bruce and Chiffon lines; Robert Tribken named product manager for the Parsons' line; F. Ann Walsh assigned product manager for Magic Pre-Wash and Sizing fabric finishes; Mark C. Quale named product manager for Burley toiletries and Dial shampoo. . . . Tennessee Eastman Co. has announced the following: R.M. Schulken appointed Senior Research Associate; Kenneth R. Barton named Research Associate; D.C. Hertig appointed Senior Research Associate; Ronald J. Maner named a Research Associate; Robert H. Hasek named a Research Fellow; J.L. Chitwood appointed Director of Chemistry Research Division; C.H. Benton, Jr. appointed Director of Health and Nutrition Research Division; E.L. McDaniel, Jr. appointed Director of Eng. Research Division; M.T. Watson appointed Director of Fibers Research Division; W.C. Wooten, Jr. appointed Director of Polymers Research Division; H.S. Young appointed Director of Physical and Analytical Chemistry Research Division... Members of the Food Protein Council have elected Sheldon J. Hauck as Executvie VP and Jack DuVall as Director of Public Affairs. . . . Robert J. Laufer has been appointed Director of Aromatic Technology at Norda. . . . Diamond Shamrock has announced the following changes: C.R. Powell becomes President, Industrial Chemical and Plastics Unit; A.H. Ford becomes President, Biosciences and Metals Unit; A. Obel becomes President, International and Diversified Technology Unit; R.M. Ahlstrom becomes VP and Treasurer with overall responsibility for corporate financial activities....American National Standard Institute has announced that Walter C. Canham, Jr. has been elected chairman and M.G. Domsitz has been elected vice-chairman.

## **INDUSTRY**

American Can Company's Food Packaging Unit has established a new division, AmGard Systems, to offer a complete range of products and services for sanitary maintenance of food processing plants...C.E. Basts Eftf. of Copenhagen is celebrating its 150th anniversary. Its managing director is Consul General Mr. Vagn Jespersen, an AOCS member since 1947.





Mark O. Flanagan

Robert J. Laufer





Richard R. Perrault

Donald J. Sargent